Farewell, CAC, you will be missed!

It’s haunting me now.

It draws me to the front desk.

It’s Carol Anne singing!

-an entry from our recent haiku contest submitted by an anonymous staff member

As many of you may know, Carol Anne Chouteau, our esteemed and much loved Head of Circulation Services, will be leaving us today to pursue another job opportunity. The SAU Library has benefited much from Carol Anne’s expertise, energy, and kind-hearted nature over the twenty years she has worked here. (Yes, I said TWENTY!!!) We would like to invite you to take a few moments to help us wish Carol Anne the best of luck in her new position at Bettendorf Public Library by posting a comment on this page. (You may comment anonymously if you wish.)

About libstaff

Bryan Hinds Evening Circulation Supervisor St. Ambrose University 518 W. Locust St. Davenport IA 52803
This entry was posted in Library News. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Farewell, CAC, you will be missed!

  1. n & e...front desk says:

    You are our unofficial mother, telling us to be nice to certain others, taking care of us when we are sick and injured (E’s finger 😦 ) and you are a cool mom cuz you still party with us! We will miss you along with all the chuckles you provide. Thanks for letting us call you when we need you!

  2. Nora says:

    CAC,

    I hope you know how much I appreciate all your help obtaining so many books on CD! I will especially miss your little emails notifying me of their arrivals 🙂

    Nora

  3. E & N & A...front desk says:

    We also want to wish you the most cromo-magnificence of luck!!! We just want you to know that Whoa! You Dream Big! And now we are getting sappy so we shall get back to “work” and leave you with three simple words. GO CAROL ANNE! (And we mean that like, “You go Girl and Good Luck” and not as in, “Leave Already!)!!!!

  4. C. Moneysmith says:

    Best Wishes to you Carol Anne. We will miss you here at St. Ambrose University. Remember the fun and good times! God Bless.

  5. Meg Halligan- admissions says:

    Carol Anne,
    Thank you for your many years of dedicated service and support of students/ community members!
    Kevin and I will hopefully see you singing your heart out some evening soon!!!
    Take care and best wishes to you,
    Meg

  6. Barbara Pitz says:

    Hi Carol Anne,

    I am so sorry that I cannot make it to your farewell reception, but I know I will see you in your new job. SAU, though, will just not be the same without you, and I am very sad that you are leaving us. In some ways SAU is your family!

    I want to wish you a truly happy change to the new position and every success in the world.

    Barbara

  7. Sandy Quinn says:

    You’ve been a wonderful support and resource. Best Wishes to you in your new library! They are lucky to have you.

  8. Caryl Altemus says:

    You go, girl! Bettendorf Library wins, SAU loses.

    Thanks for all your help and best wishes on the “new” direction in your career! 🙂

  9. Leslie says:

    Carol Anne,
    You are great at what you do and a very good friend. BPL couldn’t have made a better choice. We will miss you.

  10. Jim Van Speybroeck says:

    Carol,
    I am sorry that I cannot be there to say goodbye. Rosalie and I are watching Mike and Jenn’s two girls today.
    I wish you the best. The loss to SAU is significant, but you will be a great asset to Bettendorf.
    Take care.

  11. Christine Urish says:

    thank you SO MUCH for all the help you’ve given me and my students throughout the years. I’m going to certainly miss the preferred email letting me know my holds are in, but hopefully your replacement will know I’m a great patron. You’re the best and we’ll miss you terribly! BEST of LUCK to you in your new position.

  12. Julie McDonald says:

    Carole Ann, you will be greatly missed at the Ambrose library, but I’m glad you’re going to one that I frequent even more. The only problem is, you were the only one who remembered who I was when I came in.
    All good wishes,
    Julie McDonald

  13. Sean Whitten says:

    Thank you for all the assistance and advice you gave whilst i was in the library, i appreciate all you’ve done and wish you the best of luck, you will be missed!

  14. Teresa DeSplinter says:

    Carol Anne-
    Thank you for being there through so many of my ups and downs. You always looked out for your girls at the desk and always wanted the best for us. I’ll come visit you and let you know how things are going!! 🙂

  15. Paul Baresel says:

    Thank you for all your work at the library. You helped me find a lot of information, as I am such a scatterbrain!

    God bless you, Mrs. Chouteau, for your commitment to St. Ambrose and to students.

  16. Terry Schlabach says:

    Thank you so much for all of the wonderful help and “can do attitude” throughout the years. I hope you still will come and sing for us because I will miss your beautiful voice.

    Good luck, Terry

  17. joe mc caffrey says:

    carol anne –
    now i will go to the bettendorf library more often. you and your family – the chouteaus – have always brought a huge element of class to sau. for many reasons i think that that familial continuity will maintain, just in another way and another pattern. my best wishes and big thank yous for being who you are.
    joe

  18. Kelly Staub says:

    Carol Anne,

    Congratulations on your new job opportunity I was so surprised to see that you would be leaving SAU. I hope to still see you shopping at HyVee. Thank you so much for the four great years I worked with you as a student worker! Have a wonderful time at the Bettendorf library and I hope to see you there as well!

    Best Wishes!
    Kelly Staub

  19. Patty Schuch a.k.a. UW says:

    Carolanne a.k.a. LW,
    Life on campus will never be the same without your presence!! Bettendorf is a better place with you running the ship………. they just don’t have a clue yet!!!!!! I will miss our in-depth conversation in your office… trying not to laugh too loud ; ^ ) You have become a blessing in mine and Hayley’s life, I thank God everyday for your friendship!! Even though you don’t share your sundae!! LOL
    Best of luck to you in your next chapter…and always send me those rocking e mails so I can come and enjoy those talented tonsils!!
    Love,
    Patty the U.W.
    and Hayley

  20. Lindsay and Rick Schaefer says:

    We both already miss you Carol Anne! I wish I could’ve made your farewell party this afternoon 😦

    You are one of our favorite Ambrose people, and we will have to start frequenting BPS more often!

    Rick and Lindsay Schaefer 🙂 x o x o x o

  21. Amy Chalus says:

    Carol Anne-
    I feel so lucky to have gotten to know you over the past few years! So many people are better having have known you…you are such an amazing person! I wish you the best of luck at your new job. You will be missed and were a joy to work with!

  22. Rhonda says:

    Carol I so enjoyed our visits, and our movie and book critics! You ROCK I will miss you Rhonda

  23. Carol Anne says:

    Hello Everyone!!!
    I’m not sure those who have sent a comment will come back to read any others, but even so, I thought I’d add my words to this as well.
    As many of you know, I enjoy quotes and pithy little sayings – they usually help me keep my head in the game and the ones I choose usually reflect a lot of my “spirit.” With that said, here is one I have posted on the message board in circulation.
    “There is a destiny that makes us brothers: No one goes his way alone: All that we send into the lives of others, Comes back into our own.” – Edwin Markham
    I feel this quote reflects some of what Amy Chalus (one of my student employees) submitted above … that people are better having known me. It might have been a selfish act though – so, we have to be careful on blessing me too much 🙂 – I try to give as much as I can, because often it does come back to me … usually threefold – so, you see – I’m the big winner here!!
    May God bless all of you who I have known, helped and cared about all of these years, you will all hold a special place in my heart, and I will always wish many blessings upon you.
    Much love,
    Carol Anne

  24. Jenny Parker(Schroeder) says:

    Carol Anne,
    Who am I supposed to waste time talking to when I should be doing homework?? I wish you the best of luck with your new job and perhaps I will need to stop in since I live close by.
    Love you lots and always, Jenny.

  25. Christi Loftus says:

    We will all miss you very much. Thank you for all you have done and Im glad to have met you!
    Christi

  26. Beth Sallak says:

    Carol Anne, I’m sorry we didn’t make it to your farewell reception, but I’m sure you were surrounded by those who respect & love you. Maysun & I will come to the Bett. Lib. more often now! See you soon!

  27. Kelsey Ward says:

    Carol Anne,

    It was a pleasure working with you for two years at the library, you were a great supervisor. Your help with circulation matters even after I left the library was also awesome and you will be sorely missed. Your new job gives me a reason to find the Bettendorf library though.

    Kelsey

  28. Jamie Miller says:

    Carol,

    Thank you so much for being understanding throughout the years. Everytime I was in the library (which yes, I admit was everyday) I would always look for your smiling face. You have a great personality and a loving heart. I am glad that you can spread the sunshine to others. Good luck in the future with singing and with Bettendorf. You will be missed but maybe I will make it into the library to see you every once in a while. Keep on doing what you do best!

  29. Michelle L Ramsey says:

    Best of Luck and thanks for all your wonderful years of help! 🙂

  30. Gene Bechen says:

    Carol,
    I am SO sorry I missed your send off! You have been nothing but a GEM during the past few years and I will definitely miss chatting with you at the circ desk! Thanks sooooooo much for all of your help over the years! YOU ROCK!! 🙂 gb

  31. Tanika McNeal says:

    Hi Carol Anne,
    I’m going to miss you sooo much! You always greeted me with a smile that made my day happier…you don’t see that much in this world so I want to tell you how much I appreciate your kindness and hospitality toward me when I first came to Ambrose. I wish you many blessings! love Tanika!

Leave a Reply

